



Address contributions for CHP News and "CHP Corner" to:

Editor

Kyle Kleinhans, CHP Work: 865-576-4170

Email: kk2@bechteljacobs.org

Associate Editor

Harry Anagnostopoulos, CHP

Work: 314-770-3059

Email: harold.w.anagnostopoulos@saic.com

Part II Examination Panel

Govind R. Rao, Chair

The Part II Examination Panel is appointed by the American Board of Health Physics (ABHP) and is typically comprised of 25 to 30 CHPs with varied expertise encompassing the entire breadth of the health physics profession. Each member is appointed for a four-year term. The panel is charged with the task of developing, producing, and grading the Part II Exam, which includes 11 categories of questions representing five domains of practice (Measurements and Instrumentation, Standards and Requirements, Hazard Analysis and Controls, Operations and Procedures, and Fundamentals and Education).

The panel is one of the hardest-working groups, with a tight, nonnegotiable schedule. The entire process begins in September with subgroups developing four to six questions (with stock solutions) for each of the 11 categories. Questions submitted during previous years are often used as starting points.

The panel meets for two days during the Health Physics Society midyear meeting to evaluate the submitted questions. By the end of the two-day workshop, three questions from each category are selected for further consideration.

The selected questions in each category are then ranked by secret ballot by panel and ABHP board members. The chair selects the top two questions in each category for an additional QA review by select ABHP board members. A draft of the exam is assembled and sent for a final "Wise-Person" review and comment by three senior health physicists who are experienced and familiar with the Part II Examination process.

Finally, the panel chair incorporates the comments from the "Wise-Person" review and, in conjunction with the ABHP board chair, produces the final exam.

The final task of panel members is to grade the examination, which is accomplished during August-September.

Participation on the panel is one of the most rewarding and satisfying experiences for a CHP. Apart from the obvious benefits of gaining a substantial number of continuing education points towards recertification, members derive considerable satisfaction from knowing that they have made a truly significant contribution to our profession and to the aspirations of budding CHPs. It gives members an opportunity to exchange ideas and insights with fellow panel members, many of whom they would otherwise not have met. Members not only learn a lot, but also enjoy the intellectually stimulating environment of the annual workshop and the opportunity to network with fellow members. If you are interested in participating on the panel, please indicate your interest when you submit your American Academy of Health Physics annual dues, or contact any of the panel members.



2006 Panel II Workshop Attendees, left to right, Casper Sun, Robert May, Dave Tucker, Richard Belanger, Andy Miller, Ron Mlekodaj, David Burkett, Mike Campbell, Toshihide Ushino, Tim Paul, Gus Potter (Vice Chair), Herman Cember, Jerry Thomas, Sunita Kamboj, Pat LaFrate, Krzysztof Szornel, Nora Nicholson (ABHP Board member), Wayne Gaul, Govind Rao (Chair), Daniel Menchaca; not pictured but attending the workshop: Camille Abboud, Jack Higginbotham (ABHP Board member); other Panel II members not pictured: David McLaughlin, Johnafred Thomas, Jack Buddenbaum, Christine Donahue, Jeff Vollmer, Willie Harris

AAHP Standing Committees for 2007

Ed Maher, President-elect

There are eight standing committees of the American Academy of Health Physics (AAHP). The composition of the Finance Committee is specified in our bylaws, but members of the remaining seven are diplomats of the Academy nominated by the president and approved by the Executive Committee for staggered three-year terms. Committee chairs are nominated and approved for one-year terms.

A brief description of each committee's members and chairs for 2007 as approved by the AAHP Executive Committee is shown below. More information about the composition and function of standing committees of the Academy can be found on our Web site, www.AAHP-ABHP.org, at link http://www.hps1.org/aahp/committee duty overview.htm.

Finance Committee: Members of the Finance Committee for 2007 are Paul S. Stansbury (Chair), Ed Bailey (2007 AAHP Treasurer), and Shawn Googins (2007 ABHP Chair).

Continuing Education Committee: Members of the Continuing Education Committee for 2007 are Sarah Hoover (Chair), Roy Craft, Nancy Sullivan, and new members Scottie Walker, Louise Buker, and David Hearnsberger.

Nominating Committee: Members of the Nominating Committee for 2007 are Carl Paperiello (Chair), Stephen Brown, Daniel Burnfield, Kyle Kleinhans, Kathy Pryor, L. Max Scott, and new members Steven King, Keith Anderson, and Jim Tarpinian (2007 ABHP Vice Chair).

Examination Site Committee: Members of the Examination Site Committee for 2007 are Dawn Banghart (Chair), Anthony Sorensen, Larry Sanders, and Matthew Arno.

Professional Standards and Ethics Committee:

Members of the Professional Standards and Ethics Committee for 2007 are Paul Rohwer (Chair), Debra McCroskey, Cheryl Olson, Regis Greenwood, and new member Karen Barcal.

Appeals Committee: Members of the Appeals Committee for 2007 are Robert Cherry, Jr. (Chair), Gregory Hall, and new member Nicholas Panzarino.

Professional Development Committee: Members of the Professional Development Committee for 2007 are Jay Maisler (Chair), Kevin Buckley, Jeffrey Kotsch, Cindy Bloom, and new members Tom Johnson and Edward Christman.

Title Protection and Professional Recognition

Committee: Members of the new Title Protection and Professional Recognition Committee for 2007 are Tom Buhl (Chair), Kenneth Fleming, Judson Kenoyer, Scott Kirk, Jay Maisler, and new member Kathleen Dinnel-Jones.

The Academy is extremely grateful for the service of those committee members who have completed their terms and are rotating off in January, and we welcome the new members. Please express your gratitude to CHPs you know serving on the Academy's standing committees for their contribution to our profession. Diplomats of the Academy who would like to serve on a committee should indicate their willingness on their dues envelope or contact the committee chair directly.

Moving Farther Into the Electronic Age

Jim Yusko, AAHP Director

At the recent Academy Executive Committee meeting in Providence, Rhode Island, the Executive Committee approved changes allowing members to list two additional phone numbers and one additional email address. Many CHPs, including me, have multiple telephone numbers—for example, a work phone, a home phone, and a cell

phone. Similarly, we may also have a work email address as well as one we use at home.

Accordingly, and perhaps starting as soon as the next Academy dues notice, CHPs will be afforded the opportunity of having three telephone numbers and two email addresses in the Academy database.