

American Academy of Health Physics American Board of Health Physics Web site: http://www.aahp-abhp.org

Address contributions for CHP News and "CHP Corner" to:

Editor Kyle Kleinhans, CHP Work: 865-576-4170 Email: kleinhansk@p2s.com Associate Editor Harry Anagnostopoulos, CHP Work: 702-295-3489 Email: H.Anagnostopoulos@NV.DOE.GOV

Call for 2008 McAdams Award Nominations!

Nominations for the William A. McAdams Outstanding Service Award are due by 2 March 2008. This award is presented annually by the American Board of Health Physics and the American Academy of Health Physics to honor a certified health physicist who has made a significant contribution toward the advancement of professionalism in health physics and to the certification process. Any member of the American Academy of Health Physics may submit a nomination. More details and information on the history of the McAdams award can be found at:

http://www.hps1.org/aahp/McAdams/McAdams.html and the nomination form may be downloaded at: www.hps1.org/aahp/McAdams/ McAdams_Nomination.pdf.

Professional Development Committee

Jay Maisler, Chair

S ince the last "CHP Corner" article on the Professional Development Committee (PDC) activities (February 2006), there's not much new to report, so here's the update. The PDC's role is to promote certification and recertification by the American Board of Health Physics (ABHP). The PDC work includes expanding and enhancing the professional standards for ABHP certification and recertification and encouraging and assisting diplomats in improving their knowledge and understanding of health physics principles and practices.

In addition, the PDC publicizes the benefits of ABHP certification to health physicists and fosters recognition and acceptance of the importance of ABHP certification by other allied professionals, employers of health physicists, and the general public. The PDC members also host the ABHP booth at the midyear and annual Health Physics Society meetings.

The PDC efforts to finalize a Standard of Qualifications/Practice (SQ/P) for Healthcare Radiation Safety Officers (RSO) that employers can use to set minimum qualifications for RSO applicants has taken a new turn. Coordination with sister organizations, such as the American Academy of Physicists in Medicine and the Society of Nuclear Medicine, is slowly on the move. Efforts are underway to ensure that qualification standards among our sister organizations are compatible. This will ultimately be reflected in the SQ/P.

The PDC has worked on a draft of guidance that health physicists can use if they are called as an "Expert Witness" during legal proceedings. We expect this draft to be completed by the annual Health Physics Society meeting in Pittsburgh. The other project on the books is developing a brochure explaining the benefits of becoming a certified health physicist. This draft brochure should also be ready by this summer.

Jay Maisler is the current chair of the PDC. Current members include Kevin Buckley, Ed Christman, Tom Johnson, Jeff Kotsch, and Cindy Bloom; Mike Davidson is our incoming member. If you are interested in becoming involved with this committee through active participation or in support of a particular project, please contact current PDC Chair Jay Maisler (jmaisler@enercon.com).

Part I Examination Panel

Rob Forrest, Chair

The Part I Examination Panel is appointed by the American Board of Health Physics (ABHP) and is given the responsibility for producing Part I of the certification exam for health physicists. Due to the comprehensive nature of the ABHP certification, the panel is comprised of members representing the numerous health physics disciplines.

The panel meets for two days each November near Washington, DC. The panel reviews the performance of every question from the previous year's exam. New questions are taken from an extensive question bank that is continuously updated by the addition of fresh new questions and deletion of older questions that are no longer current or relevant. Before new questions are allowed in the bank, they must first pass the scrutiny of the panel. By the end of the two-day meeting, the first draft of the next exam is ready.

Although most of the work by panel members is

completed during the November meeting, tasks are assigned throughout the year as necessary. These tasks may include editing the final version of the exam, reviewing question solutions, and updating the question bank. Members are appointed to the panel for a fouryear term.

Part I Examination Panel members routinely find panel participation one of the more rewarding tasks they undertake. The efforts of panel members bear immediate fruit in the production of the exam. In addition, the insights and expertise of fellow panel members are quite valuable. Despite the hard work, panel members enjoy a collegial atmosphere along with the pleasure of making a significant contribution to our profession.

If you are a CHP interested in participating in the Part I Examination Panel and own a Hawaiian shirt, please indicate your interest when you submit your ABHP annual dues.

2007 Part I Panel Members

The 2007 Part I Panel Members left to right, Vice Chair Tony Huffert, Jay Tarzia, Jim Willison, Jackson Ellis, Chair Rob Forrest, Vicky Morris, Scott Nichelson, Past Chair Joe Greco, Mike Hinz, and Beth Hilt. (Missing from the photo are Vice Chair Jerry Hensley and Bill Rhodes.)