

Address contributions for CHP News and "CHP Corner" to:

Editor Kyle Kleinhans, CHP Work: 865-241-1024 Email: klink17@tds.net

TP-PR Committee

Tom Buhl, CHP, Committee Chair

The Title Protection and Professional Recognition (TP-PR) Committee was incorporated into the American Academy of Health Physics (AAHP) Bylaws by the AAHP membership during a special election in 2006. The committee pursues title protection and professional recognition for CHPs, mainly through sponsoring legislation at the state legislature level in a joint program with the Health Physics Society (HPS) (for health physicists) and the American Industrial Hygiene Association (AIHA) (for industrial hygienists).

Activities to date: Last year's July "CHP Corner" article gave a brief history of the founding of the committee and its activities to date. During the 2008 legislative session, four states were approached with proposals for TP-PR legislation.

A bill was introduced into the Hawaii legislature and is now under "sunrise review" for consideration during the next legislative session. A letter of support for the legislation was prepared for the AAHP president's signature and sent to the legislative sponsor. We are still waiting to hear from the other three states but are optimistic that at least one of them will have TP-PR legislation introduced next year.

What the committee does: The committee primarily deals with the TP-PR program as it relates to CHPs and with the AAHP's responsibilities under the Tripartite Agreement with the HPS and the American Industrial Hygiene Association. It supports similar efforts for health physicists and registered radiation protection technologists for which the HPS has the lead. A more detailed list of the committee's activities appeared in the August 2006 "CHP Corner."

The committee received a new charge during the 2008 winter meeting of the AAHP Executive Committee. Through the noteworthy efforts of Frazier Bronson, both "Certified Health Physicist" and the stylized version of CHP on the CHP pin are now officially recognized by the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office with certification American Academy of Health Physics American Board of Health Physics Web site: http://www.aahp-abhp.org

Associate Editor Harry Anagnostopoulos, CHP Work: 702-295-3489 Email: H.Anagnostopoulos@NV.DOE.GOV

marks with registration numbers. These registrations have to be renewed every five years, and the Executive Committee has charged the TP-PR Committee with this responsibility.

Committee members: Current committee members are Kathleen Dinnel-Jones, Kenny Fleming, Judson Kenoyer, Scott Kirk, and Debra McBaugh. The willingness of these individuals to serve on the TP-PR Committee and support its program is greatly appreciated by the Academy.

The committee also wishes to thank Aaron Trippler, director of the AIHA Government Affairs Office, for his help and support throughout the year.

William A. McAdams Award

Kent Lambert, CHP, ABHP Vice Chair

The William A. McAdams Outstanding Service Award is given annually by the American Board of Health Physics (ABHP) to honor a CHP who has made significant contributions to the advancement of professionalism in health physics and to the certification process. This year's distinguished awardee is James S. Willison, CHP, in recognition of the substantial achievements accomplished while serving the ABHP in almost every available role. These achievements range from legacy preservation (McAdams Award history on the Web site) to substantive process changes (Part I and II question bank compilations) to whimsical (tropical shirt initiative).

From exam proctor to ABHP chair, Jim's service to the certification process began the year after he was certified and continues to this day. Indeed, he still has two years remaining on his term on the Part I Exam Panel. In the only year which he did not play a formal role (2000), he prepared and submitted a report to the ABHP on evaluation criteria for Part II questions. It is fitting to note that Jim's inspiration to participate in the certification process came in part from last year's award recipient, Kathryn Pryor.

The full award citation will be printed in an upcoming issue of *Health Physics News*.