American Academy of Health Physics American Board of Health Physics Web site: http://www.aahp-abhp.org

Address contributions for CHP News and "CHP Corner" to:

Editor

Kyle Kleinhans, CHP Work: 865-241-1024 Email: klink17@tds.net Associate Editor Harry Anagnostopoulos, CHP Work: 702-295-3489

Email: H.Anagnostopoulos@NV.DOE.GOV

AAHP Standing Committees for 2010

Paul S. Stansbury, CHP, President-elect

There are eight standing committees of the American Academy of Health Physics (AAHP), including the Finance Committee, whose composition is specified in our bylaws. Members of the remaining seven committees are Diplomats of the Academy nominated by the president-elect and approved by the Executive Committee for staggered three-year terms. Committee chairs are nominated and approved for one-year terms.

A brief listing of each committee's members and chairs for calendar year 2010, as approved by the AAHP Executive Committee, is shown below. More information about the composition and function of standing committees of the Academy can be found on our Web site (http://hps1.org/aahp/index.htm) at link http://hps1.org/aahp/committee_duty_overview.htm.

The committee assignments below were approved by the Academy's Executive Committee at its meeting in Minneapolis on 12 July 2009.

Appeals Committee

Gregory Hall (reappointed chair), Penny Shamblin, Nicholas Panzarino (reappointed for a second term).

Continuing Education Committee

James Willison (reappointed chair), James Cherniak, Joseph Greco, and Louise Buker and L. Scott Walker (both reappointed).

Examination Site Committee

April Chance (reappointed chair), John Gough, Jason Flora, and Jack Higginbotham.

Finance Committee

Ray Johnson (AAHP treasurer and chair), Dan Mantooth (past secretary), and Jack Higginbotham (2010 American Board of Health Physics [ABHP] chair).

Nominating Committee

Kathryn Pryor (reappointed chair), John Hageman, Steve King, Glenn Sturchio, Morgan Cox, Earl Fordham, Kyle Kleinhans, and new members Bruce Zibung and Nora Nicholson (2010 ABHP vice chair).

Professional Development Committee

Chair Michael Davidson, Cindy Bloom, Jeffrey Vollmer, and new members Andrew Karam, Wei-Hsung Wang, and Thomas E. Johnson, who agreed to serve a second term. Kevin S. Buckley agreed to serve a second one-year term as American Association of Physicists in Medicine liaison for the committee.

Professional Standards and Ethics Committee

Chair Ruth McBurney, Cheryl Olson, John (Jack) Fix, and Paul Rohwer (who wished to step down as chair but agreed to serve a second term on the committee).

Title Protection and Professional Recognition Committee

Tom Buhl (reappointed chair), Barbara Hamrick, Bernard Olsen, Judson Kenoyer, Debra McBaugh, and Kathleen Dinnel-Jones (who agreed to serve a second term).

The Academy is extremely grateful for the service of those committee members who have completed their terms and are rotating off in January 2010. The outgoing committee members are Keith Anderson, Ed Bailey, Karen Barcal, Edward Christman, David Hearnsberger, Jay Maisler, Patricia Milligan, and Cheryl Olson.

Please express your gratitude to these CHPs for their contribution to our profession by serving on the Academy's Standing Committees. Diplomats of the Academy who would like to serve on a committee should indicate their willingness on their dues envelope or contact the committee chair or contact Nancy Johnson at the Secretariat.

In addition to these committees, the Academy has several liaison positions, one of which is liaison to the Health Physics Society (HPS). The person appointed to

serve as HPS liaison is usually a director of the Society with a three-year term on the HPS Board. We are grateful to Kathleen Shingleton, who has served in that capacity for the past three years. The new HPS liaison is Elizabeth Brackett, who is a newly elected director of the Society Board of Directors.

The State of AAHP Finances

Ray Johnson, CHP, Treasurer

Academy's Investments

Along with everyone else, our investments have gone through a rough year. The good news is that after reaching a low point in February 2009, we have been on a steady rebound. We have had a 25 percent increase in both long-term securities and intermediate-term securities in the past six months. The total value of the Academy's investments and short-term funds as of 31 May 2009 (the last full quarter of data available) was \$633,920. These results have exceeded the benchmark goals of the S&P 500 and the LBGC.

The Academy's investment policy says that we should have securities (including short-term funds) equivalent to 2.5 times our annual budget. An analysis of these funds shows that we are well above this goal.

FY2009/2010 Budget

At the 11-12 July 2009 meeting in Minneapolis, Minnesota, the Executive Committee adopted the FY2009/2010 operating budget as proposed by the

Finance Committee. This budget has \$227,967 for expenses of the Academy and the American Board of Health Physics (ABHP) and is essentially the same budget approved for last year.

This budget projects \$175,700 in income for FY2009/2010, but this does not mean the Academy will experience an operating deficit. The projected income includes no revenue from the growth of assets. Also, the Finance Committee and Executive Committee have noted that historically the officers and committees of the Academy and the ABHP consistently spend less than is budgeted for them. The Finance Committee believes there will be no real deficit and the value of the Academy's assets will continue to grow in the coming year.

The complete budget is posted on the Members Only section of the Academy's Web site. Should you have questions, don't hesitate to email me at ray.johnson@ moellerinc.com.

8