

American Academy of Health Physics American Board of Health Physics Web site: http://www.aahp-abhp.org

Address contributions for CHP News and "CHP Corner" to:

Editor

Kyle Kleinhans, CHP Work: 865-241-1024 Email: klink17@tds.net Associate Editor Harry Anagnostopoulos, CHP Work: 702-295-3489

Email: H.Anagnostopoulos@NV.DOE.GOV

## **Nominating Committee**

Kathryn H. Pryor, CHP, Chair

The Nominating Committee is L composed of nine plenary members of the Academy whose primary job is to put together a slate of candidates for open positions on the Academy Executive Committee, the American Board of Health Physics (ABHP), and the Academy representation on the American Board of Medical Physics. Nominating Committee members represent a wide variety of geographical areas and disciplines of health physics. It is this diversity on the committee that helps in identifying a larger and more diverse pool of candidates for elective office.

The Nominating Committee contacts potential nominees for

elective office, reviews their eligibility and willingness to serve, ranks the candidates, and forwards the slate of candidates to the Executive Committee. Working closely with the ABHP, the committee also selects and ranks candidates for open positions on the Board. The Nominating Committee identifies candidates for the Academy positions on the American Board of Medical Physics.

Members who are continuing terms or who were reappointed to new terms on the Nominating Committee in 2010 are Morgan Cox, Earl Fordham, John Hageman, Steven King, Kyle Kleinhans, and Glenn Sturchio. New members are Bruce Zibung and Nora Nicholson

(2010 ABHP vice-chair and ex officio member). Kathy Pryor was reappointed to the position of chair of the committee. The Nominating Committee would like to thank those members who concluded their term this past year for their service: outgoing member Keith Anderson and ex officio member Trish Milligan (2009 ABHP vice-chair).

The Nominating Committee strongly encourages Academy members to submit names of potential candidates for elected office or to volunteer to be considered themselves. Past service on the ABHP Examination Panels, Academy standing committees, or the ABHP is helpful but not required.

## **Continuing Education Update**

Jim Willison, CHP, Chair

It seems like I just wrote one of these. First off, let me welcome Cheryl Antonio and Joel Rabovsky to the Continuing Education Committee. Scottie Walker and David Hearnsberger completed their terms on the committee as of January. If any of you want to know who is on any of the American Academy of Health Physics (AAHP) Committees, just check out the AAHP Web site (www.aahp-abhp.org) since the Health Physics Society membership handbook is no longer published.

If any of you are trying to find out which activities have already been approved for continuing education credits, that information is also on the Web site. The course listings have recently been revamped so that all courses approved for a year are now listed under the courses for that year. Previously, you had to dig a little, as courses that were approved for four years were listed in the year they were approved, not in every year they were valid. If this still sounds confusing, just look at the

Web site and it should be pretty easy. I will also remind everyone that browsers have the search function (Ctrl-F) that allows you to find specific text on a page.

As I write this, we currently have two AAHP eight-hour courses lined up for the Salt Lake City meeting. The first is Training Emergency Responders: Materials, Tools, and Methods for Health Physicists. This is a train-the-trainer course related to transportation accidents and also related to homeland security inci-

dents. Our second course is a meeting. Abstracts for the courses repeat of the eight-hour are in the meeting preliminary HAZWOPER training course program. offered last year. We are still trying If you have any ideas for topics to arrange a third course for the for the eight-hour AAHP courses aahpcec@burkinc.com.

or, even better, if you want to volunteer as an instructor for the Charleston meeting in February 2011, please contact us at

8