

Address contributions for CHP News and "CHP Corner" to:

Editor Associate Editor

Kyle Kleinhans, CHP
Work: 865-241-1024
Harry Anagnostopoulos, CHP
Work: 702-295-3489

Email: klink17@tds.net Email: H.Anagnostopoulos@NV.DOE.GOV

## **Continuing Education Committee**

Jim Willison, CHP, Chair

It's a new year and, once again, CHP thoughts turn to recertification. As a reminder, each CHP requires 64 continuing education credits (CECs) in a four-year period to remain an active certified health physicist. Many CECs are in preapproved categories, such as attendance at national and local Health Physics Society (HPS) meetings. Others require submittal to the American Academy of Health Physics (AAHP) Continuing Education Committee. Guidance for CHPs can be found at the AAHP website (http://www.hpsl.org/aahp), using the link titled "Recertification Info" on the left of the page. This link also can get you to the forms for recertification and for submittal of educational activities for CEC review.

The committee is also responsible for coordinating the eight-hour AAHP courses at the annual and midyear HPS meetings. The courses are held on the Saturday before the meeting. The courses cost \$275 and provide attendees with an opportunity to learn something new or to freshen up on previously learned information. Attendees are granted 16 CECs for their effort. Two courses are being presented at the upcoming Dallas midyear meeting: "Other Duties as Assigned," taught by Bob Emery and Janet Gutierrez, and "Medical Physics for Non-Medical Physicists," taught by Andy Miller and Dave Burkett. Abstracts for these courses are located in the meeting preliminary program, available on the HPS website (http://hps.org/documents/2012\_midyear\_preliminary\_program.pdf).

The committee is currently soliciting instructors and ideas for the Sacramento meeting and other future meetings. Instructors are granted 20 CECs, and each course has a \$1,000 honorarium.

For 2012, the committee consists of me, Cheryl Antonio, Louise Buker, April Chance, Brian Hinderliter, and Joel Rabovsky. Anyone who wants to present a course should contact any of the committee members or use the committee email address at <a href="mailto:adapteec@burkinc.com">adapteec@burkinc.com</a>.

## **ABHP Part I Panel of Examiners Activities**

Jay Tarzia, CHP, Chair

Each year in November, the American Board of Health Physics (ABHP) Part I Examination Panel meets for two days in McLean, Virginia, to review the performance of the current year's exam and prepare a new exam for the following year. The panel is comprised of 12 CHPs from locations throughout the United States with expertise in different areas, including academic/research applications, accelerators, dosimetry, environmental and fundamental health physics, fuel cycle/waste management, power reactors, and regulations. Members are appointed by the ABHP for a four-year term.

In 2011, the panel held its annual meeting 20-21 November. Prior to each meeting, the results of exam-question performance from the current year are tabulated in a report for review by the committee. To prepare for the meeting, members review the report and develop recommendations for changes to the exam bank within their area of expertise. Recommended changes can include modifications to existing questions, the removal of poor-performing or outdated questions, and the addition of new questions. During the meeting, the members submit their recommendations to the panel for review. The proposed modifications and new questions are reviewed and, if approved by the panel, are added to a bank of existing questions for possible use on future exams.

The Part I panel plays a significant part in the accreditation process for health physicists and has proven to be a rewarding experience for CHPs who have volunteered for this important job. Because the terms of panel members are

staggered, there are frequent opportunities for new members to join. If you are interested in contributing to our profession and enjoy working in a collegial atmosphere with fellow CHPs, please indicate your interest in serving on the Part I Examination Panel when you submit your ABHP annual dues. You can also contact the panel chair or vice chair at any time.



2011 Part I Panel meeting, left to right, 2012 Part I Panel Vice Chair William Rhodes, Mike Stabin, Karen Brown, Dave Medich, Scott Nickelson, Cheryl Antonio, Beth Hilt, Jim Willison, 2012 new member Bill Barley, 2012 Part I Panel Past Chair Jackson Ellis, Cindy Flannery, 2012 Part I Panel Chair Jay Tarzia, and Nicolas Bates

## **Professional Development Committee**

Mike Davidson, CHP, Chair

The American Academy of Health Physics (AAHP) Professional Development Committee (PDC) has a mission to "expand and enhance the professionalism and benefits of certification and encourage and assist in the recognition and acceptance of certification by others." The committee accomplishes this by taking suggestions from fellow CHPs, brainstorming on activities to promote certification, and following leads provided by the AAHP Executive Committee based upon AAHP input at large. Improving recognition is achieved by increasing awareness of ABHP certification—and its value—with allied professional societies, employers of health physicists, academic institutions, and the general public. Another responsibility of the PDC is to prepare and review Standards of Qualifications/Practice (SQ/P) for radiation safety professionals.

Promoting and encouraging certification within the membership of the HPS is accomplished, in part, by hosting the ABHP display booth at meetings of the HPS. The PDC readily enlists volunteers to host, so CHPs please come by at the annual meeting in Sacramento and sign up for some booth duty! Committee member Jeff Vollmer really attracted the thinking class at last year's meeting in West Palm Beach by setting up his chess board and tournament timer at the booth and challenging passersby to an intellectual duel (few were able to leave victorious, we might add).

Certification will also be promoted at the upcoming Sacramento meeting by all of those CHP-musicians who participate in Radioactive Open Mic Night. Come on out on Monday night and show your musical talent at this fun event, which is in its sixth consecutive year!

Active members of the PDC are Jeff Vollmer, Carl Paperiello, Tom Johnson, Wei-Hsung Wang, Claude Wiblin, and Andy Karam. If you are interested in becoming involved with this committee through active participation, or have suggestions for committee initiatives, contact Mike Davidson (mike.davidson@tideh2o.net). Until then, tell your colleagues how great it feels to "be certified"!

## Call for 2012 McAdams Award Nominations

Moral annually by the American Board of Health Physics and the American Academy of Health Physics (AAHP) to honor a certified health physicist who has made a significant contribution toward the advancement of professionalism in health physics and to the certification process. Any member of the AAHP may submit a nomination.

More details and information on the history of the McAdams Award may be found at http://www.hps1.org/aahp/boardweb/awards/mcadams.html.

The nomination form may be found at http://www.hps1.org/aahp/boardweb/forms/McAdams\_Nomination.pdf.