American Academy of Health Physics American Board of Health Physics Website: http://www.aahp-abhp.org

Address contributions for CHP News and "CHP Corner" to:

Editor Associate Editor

Kyle Kleinhans, CHP Harry Anagnostopoulos, CHP

Work: 865-241-1024 Work: 702-295-3489

Email: klink17@tds.net Email: H.Anagnostopoulos@NV.DOE.GOV

American Board of Health Physics Activities for 2011

Kent Lambert, CHP, ABHP Chair

The American Board of Health Physics (ABHP) held its fall meeting in McLean, Virginia, 18-19 November 2011. Based on the exam results (see the January 2012 "CHP Corner") the ABHP granted 40 new certifications in 2011.

The Board applauded panel members for the time and effort they contributed to the preparation and grading of the examinations. Special thanks (and a 10 percent bonus) were given to Jackson Ellis and Daniel Menchaca for chairing the Part I and Part II Exam Panels respectively. But because they volunteered their time, the bonus consisted of two 10-minute breaks. Joking aside, their hard work was sincerely appreciated.

The Board decoupled the application for emeritus CHP status from the application for recertification. If you are retiring from active professional practice due to age or health, you should seriously consider applying for emeritus status rather than letting your certification lapse. As an emeritus CHP you are not required to renew certification, but you enjoy all of the privileges of an active member, receive all of the publications of the American Academy of Health Physics (AAHP), and are listed with an emeritus designation among the active CHPs.

The Board also converted many of the forms (all of which are available on the AAHP/ABHP website) to a format which allows them to be completed using the free Adobe Acrobat Reader.

In other Board actions, the calculator-use policy was revised to formally prohibit the use of wireless communication devices during the exam. So, for example, calculator "apps" for smartphones may not be used. Also, a liaison position was created to allow for the multiyear appointment of an individual to represent the ABHP on the Council of Engineering and Scientific Specialty Boards (CESB), which accredits the ABHP. Nora Nicholson accepted appointment to this role.

The term expired for one member of the ABHP (me); the new Board member (effective 1 January 2012) is Andy Miller.

Finally, it would be easy to take for granted the work of Nancy Johnson, which makes it all the more important to recognize the dedication and skillful guidance she provides.

Professional Standards and Ethics Committee

Ruth E. McBurney, CHP, Chair

The Academy's Professional Standards and Ethics Committee is charged with defining the standards of professional responsibility for certified health physicists (CHPs) and reviewing all complaints about unethical practice that are referred to the committee by the Executive Committee. The Standards of Professional Responsibility are in place and they have been reviewed.

The Professional Standards and Ethics Committee is a standing committee of the American Academy of Health Physics (AAHP), composed of five members of the Academy. Serving on the committee in 2012 (in addition to the chair) are Nancy Kirner, Paul Rohwer, Tim Taulbee, and Bruce Thomadsen.

It appears that all CHPs are continuing to conduct themselves in a professional and ethical manner, as no complaints have been referred to the committee in the recent past. The committee also serves as a clearinghouse for professional standards and ethics questions from CHPs and others engaged in the profession of health physics.

Another responsibility of the Professional Standards and Ethics Committee is the establishment of procedures for selecting, awarding, and announcing the Joyce P. Davis Award winners. Those procedures are in place. They have been reviewed and a call has been issued for nominations for the 2012 Joyce P. Davis Memorial Award. The information regarding the nomination process can be found in the December edition of the *CHP News*.

Appeals Committee of the AAHP

Nicholas Panzarino, CHP, Chair

The bylaws of the American Academy of Health Physics (AAHP) state that the actions of the American Board of Health Physics (ABHP) in awarding certification or certification renewal are final. However, an individual who has been denied certification or certification renewal may request a review of that decision by the Appeals Committee, which was established by the Academy.

The Appeals Committee consists of three plenary members of the Academy. Current members of the ABHP or its examination panels are, however, excluded from the committee. The committee typically meets only if an appeal is received.

The review conducted by the committee is limited by the Academy's bylaws to a determination as to whether the policies and procedures of the ABHP have been properly carried out. The results of these reviews are reported to the president of the Academy and the ABHP chair.

Health Physics Society 41 Return to Table of Contents

Health Physics News • March 2012

If there is a finding of a failure to comply with a policy or procedure in the denial of certification or certification renewal, the president refers the report and recommendations of the Appeals Committee to the chair of the ABHP for resolution. The Academy president informs the appellant of the results of the Appeals Committee's review.

Members of the Appeals Committee are appointed for a three-year term. The current members of the committee are Chair Nicholas Panzarino, Jason Marsden, and Cheryl Olson. ■