

American Academy of Health Physics American Board of Health Physics Website: http://www.aahp-abhp.org

Address contributions for *CHP News* and "CHP Corner" to:

Editor Associate Editor

Kyle Kleinhans, CHP Harry Anagnostopoulos, CHP

Work: 865-241-1024 Work: 702-295-3489

Email: klink17@tds.net Email: H.Anagnostopoulos@NV.DOE.GOV

Professional Standards and Ethics Committee

Ruth E. McBurney, CHP, Chair

The purpose of the Professional Standards and Ethics Committee is to define the standards of professional responsibility for certified health physicists and to review all complaints about ethical practice referred to the committee by the Executive Committee. The activities of the Professional Standards and Ethics Committee were very limited this past year. This is a good sign that suggests that our colleagues continue to conduct themselves in a professional and ethical manner.

The committee is also responsible for selection of the Joyce P. Davis Memorial Award winners. This award is given in memory and honor of Joyce P. Davis in recognition of her dedication to the advancement of health physics and her humanitarian efforts to uphold the ethics of the profession. No one was selected to receive the award this year. The committee is in the process of reviewing the standard operating procedure for the award to determine whether the procedures and criteria meet the original intent of the award.

A call for nominations for next year's Joyce P. Davis Memorial Award will be published in a later edition of the "CHP Corner." I encourage all CHPs to begin thinking about those among our ranks who are deserving of this prestigious award.

The current Professional Standards and Ethics Committee members (in addition to the chair) are Nancy Kirner, Paul Rohwer, Tim Taulbee, and Bruce Thomadsen.

AAHP Committee Appointments

Ray Johnson, CHP, President-elect

One of the primary responsibilities of the American Academy of Health Physics (AAHP) president-elect is to nominate staff for the eight standing committees for the coming year. These committees perform much of the work of the Academy through close interactions with Nancy Johnson (our executive secretary from Burk and Associates). In some professional organizations, it is a difficult task to find persons willing to commit the time and effort to serve on committees. This is not the case for CHPs—they are ready and willing to serve!

The process for identifying potential members of committees begins when CHPs indicate on their dues statement a willingness to serve on a committee. Nancy provided me a long list of those volunteers. I worked with Nancy, President John Frazier, and the current chairs of committees to identify potential replacements for those whose term ends at the February 2013 midyear meet-

Health Physics Society 34 Return to Table of Contents

ing in Scottsdale, Arizona. I then selected potential replacements by also considering geographic variability and including new volunteers on committees. The response to my calls to potential replacements was outstanding, as every person I asked to join a committee agreed to serve.

The number of members for each committee is established in the AAHP bylaws, as is the term of office (each member serves a three-year term, renewable upon approval of the AAHP Executive Committee, with the chair being selected from the committee for renewable one-year terms). I am pleased to say, at our 22 July 2012 annual meeting, the AAHP Executive Committee approved the following committee memberships for 2013–2015:

Committee Enrollment	Role	Name	Year of Completion		
			2013	2014	2015
Appeals	Chair	Cheryl Olson		X	
	Member	Jason Marsden	X		
		Duncan White			X
Continuing Education	Chair	James S. Willison		X	
	Member	Brian Hinderliter	X		
		April Chance		X	
		Mark Hogue			X
		Alan Jackson			X
		Scott Schwahn			X
Exam Site	Chair	Janine Katanic	X		
	Member	Kay Foster	X		
		Darrell Liles	X		
		Todd Baker		X	
Finance*	Chair	Andrew Thatcher	X		
	Member	Govind Rao**	X		
		Alex Boerner			X
Nominating	Chair	Gary Kephart	X		
	Member	Kurt Geber	X		
		Glenn Sturchio	X		
		Cynthia L. Connelly		X	
		Morgan Cox		X	
		Christine Donahue		X	
		Toshihide Ushino			X
		Dale Thomas III			X
		Pat LaFrate***	X		
Professional Development	Chair	Michael Davidson	X		
	Member	Claude Wiblin	X		
		Carl J. Paperiello		X	
		Richard Granburg			X
		Thomas Johnson			X
Professional Standards		Maya Keller			X
& Ethics	Chair	Ruth McBurney	X		
	Member	Tim Taulbee	X		
	Wichioci	Bruce R. Thomadsen	11	X	
		Danny L. Rice		21	X
		Neil Stanford			X
Title Protection/					
Professional Recognition	Chair	Charles Kent	X		
	Member	Robert G. Gallaghar		X	
		Carmine M. Plott		X	
		Travis Beard			X
		Steven Frey			X
		Victoria Morris			X

^{*} Membership established by AAHP bylaws

Health Physics Society 35 Return to Table of Contents

^{**} ABHP Chair

^{***} ABHP Vice-chair

Activities of the American Board of Health Physics

Charles (Gus) Potter, CHP, ABHP Chair

The American Board of Health Physics (ABHP) held its summer meeting on 21 July 2012 in Sacramento, California. ABHP officers for the 2013 calendar year were selected as follows (with the year that the Board term expires):

- Chair Govind Rao (2013)
- Vice-chair Pat LaFrate (2015)
- Secretary George MacDurmon (2014)
- Parliamentarian Sharon Dossett (2013)

The exam panel officers for 2013 are:

- Part I Panel Chair Bill Rhodes (2014)
- Part I Vice-chair Cindy Flannery (2016)
- Part II Panel Chair Wayne Gaul (2014)
- Part II Panel Vice-chair Curtis Kwasniewski (2014)

Andy Miller began his term, which continues through 2016. Andy Karam was selected to join the Board, beginning in 2013. Andy replaces Jack Higginbottham, whose term has expired. Remaining on the Board and not otherwise mentioned is Rob Forrest.

The Board had asked the panel chairs to review the list of radionuclides in the Exam Preparation Guide and recommend changes. There was a rather lengthy discussion on whether ²²⁶Ra was still an appropriate radionuclide for inclusion in the guide. In the end, it was decided to keep ²²⁶Ra, remove ¹²⁹I, and add ¹⁸F and ²⁴¹Am. The full list is now ³H, ¹⁴C, ¹⁸F, ³²P, ³⁵S, ⁶⁰Co, ⁹⁰Sr, ^{99m}Tc, ¹²⁵I, ¹³¹I, ¹³⁷Cs, ²²⁶Ra, and ²⁴¹Am. To quote the text, "The candidate should be familiar with fundamental characteristics of those radionuclides commonly encountered in the radiation field . . . Fundamental characteristics include basics such as the mode of decay, principle type(s) of radiation emitted, energies of radiation emitted, and half-life."

The ABHP exam, Parts I and II, were offered in 15 sites this year, with the main site being in Sacramento. There were 307 total applicants—about the same as last year. Participants included 156 who actually sat for the Part I exam and 88 who actually sat for Part II.

I would personally like to thank all of the proctors who made taking the exam possible, especially Executive Secretary and Program Director Nancy Johnson. Obviously, without them, the number of exam sites would have to be reduced, forcing more candidates to travel or perhaps not be able to take the exam at all.

Each year the Secretariat receives many requests from individuals who are interested in obtaining ABHP certification but are unsure if their education or work experience qualifies. The response to that type of request will always be cursory in nature, since final evaluations are made only through the application process. I would suggest that unsure candidates read through the ABHP Prospectus (which can be found at http://www.hpsl.org/aahp/boardweb/prospectus.html) and, if they feel that they meet the requirements, go ahead and apply to receive a thorough evaluation of their qualifications.

Health Physics Society 36 Return to Table of Contents