CHP Corner



American Academy of Health Physics American Board of Health Physics Website: www.aahp-abhp.org

Call for AAHP Nominations

Gary Kephart, Nominating Committee Chair

The American Academy of Health Physics (AAHP) Nominating Committee is looking for candidates to run for Academy office on the 2014 ballot. Successful candidates will take office at the 2015 Health Physics Society (HPS) Midyear Meeting. We need nominees for the offices of president-elect, treasurer, and director.

Nominees must be:

- Current plenary members of the Academy (either active or emeritus).
- Not serving an appointment to either the Part I or Part II Exam Panels or as a member of the American Board of Health Physics (ABHP) at the time that they take office.

The president-elect serves one year, followed by a year as president and a third year as past president. The president-elect is responsible for filling positions on the Academy committees, attending the meetings of the AAHP Executive Committee, and (as president) presiding over the meetings of the Academy.

The treasurer serves a term of two years, followed by one year as past treasurer. The treasurer is responsible for the proper accounting of all the Academy assets and the proper administration of the Academy's funds in accordance with an approved budget.

The directors serve terms of three years. The directors attend the meetings of the Academy Executive Committee and perform duties as requested by the president.

The Academy Executive Committee meets twice per year at the HPS annual and midyear meetings.

Please contact any member of the Nominating Committee by phone or email to volunteer or to nominate someone. The committee members are Cynthia Connelly, Morgan Cox, Christine Donahue, Pat LaFrate, Kurt Geber, Glenn Sturchio, Dale Thomas, and Toshihide Ushino.

Contact information for committee members can be found in the HPS website's membership directory or at the <u>AAHP website</u>. You may also contact the chair directly at <u>gary.kephart@ettp.doe.gov</u>.



Kent Lambert (right) receives the William A. McAdams Outstanding Service Award from Patrick LaFrate. Photo by Casper Sun

Announcing the 2013 William A. McAdams Outstanding Service Award

Patrick J. LaFrate, ABHP Vice-Chair

The William A. McAdams Outstanding Service Award was presented to Kent N. Lambert at the 58th Annual Meeting of the Health Physics Society (HPS) in Madison, Wisconsin, 7–11 July 2013. The award was established in 1989 and is presented annually by the ABHP and AAHP to honor a certified health physicist who has made a significant contribution toward the advancement of professionalism in health physics and to the certification process.

In conferring the award, the committee noted Kent's dedication to the profession of health physics for 34 years, serving as a board member to the HPS and the ABHP, as ABHP Board chair, and as panel chair for both ABHP Exam Parts I and II. Kent is currently implementing solid radiation safety programs at several academic and medical institutions. He continues to provide his service to various committees both inside and outside the HPS and serves as a mentor to new health physicists. Kent has a keen intellect that provides a critical review to radiation safety practices and policies. He never hesitates to stand up for his beliefs, and he treats those with whom he associates with the utmost professional respect.

His many years of sustained and dedicated service to the ABHP and the health physics community at large make him fully deserving of recognition and applause. With this award, Kent joins an elite group of 24 previous recipients.

Please join us in looking forward to a full citation of the McAdams Award in December's *Health Physics*.



The 2013 AAHP National Service Award was presented to Daniel Mantooth (left) by John Frazier at the 58th Annual Meeting of the Health Physics Society in Madison, Wisconsin, 7–11 July 2013.

Photo by Casper Sun