CHP Corner



American Academy of Health Physics American Board of Health Physics Website: www.aahp-abhp.org

Examination Site Committee Activities

Janine F. Katanic, CHP, Chair

As Shakespeare wrote, "What's in a name?" Over the years, our committee has been called many names. Some of the names we have been called include "Exam Site Committee," "Examination Site Committee," "Exam Site Selection Committee," and perhaps others such as "tenacious implorers" and "persistent pleaders." All kidding aside, a careful review of the American Academy of Health Physics (AAHP) Bylaws, our standard operating procedure (SOP), and our charter revealed the cause of the confusion. We actually did have several different names in those documents. During this past July's Executive Committee meeting, we submitted revisions to our SOP and charter that were approved, resulting in a name for our committee that is consistent with the AAHP Bylaws. That name is "Examination Site Committee." So it is written; so shall it be.

In other news, we have again wrapped up another successful examination season. Committee members Darrell Liles, Kay Foster, Todd Baker, and I managed to beg, plead, and otherwise identify sites where candidates could take the 2013 American Board of Health Physics (ABHP) certification exam. Fortunately, many of our exam sites and proctors are reliable regulars we can depend on year after year to keep supporting the candidates. And then there are the newer or occasional exam sites where it tends to be a little more challenging to find a suitable exam host location and identify proctors. With enough emails, phone calls, coordination, outreach to fellow certified health physicists (CHPs), support from local Health Physics Society chapters, and support from the host facilities, somehow it all manages to come together. As with many things in our organization, Nancy Johnson, AAHP executive secretary and program director, is invaluable to this process and we truly appreciate the outstanding support she consistently provides to the committee.

This year, the committee established 16 examination sites in addition to the main examination site in Madison, Wisconsin. We had exam sites from east coast to west coast (and beyond to the Pacific islands), and from the southern border to the northern border (and even across the border to Canada). In this time of shrinking travel budgets, it was all the more important that we set up a sufficient number of exam sites in the most sensible geographic locations in order to serve the needs of the candidates. The committee would like to extend its thanks and deep appreciation to the exam site CHP proctors as well as other CHPs who were instrumental in setting up and coordinating this year's exam sites.

- · Aiken, South Carolina: Dennis Hadlock, John Moxley, James Johnson, Duane McLane
- Atlanta, Georgia: John Dixon, Tamela Wheeler
- Boston, Massachusetts: Mark Walsh, Michael Melisi
- Fort Collins, Colorado: Fredrick J. (Ted) Borst, Jim Herrold, Tom Johnson
- Gaithersburg, Maryland: Janna Shupe, Thomas McGiff, Keith Consani
- · Hartford, Connecticut: Daniel Evans, Tammy Stemen, Kenneth Price
- Honolulu, Hawaii: Lou Shimabuku
- Houston, Texas: John W. (Jay) Poston, Jr., Janet Gutierrez
- Los Angeles, California: Colin Dimock, Mike Campbell, E. Scott Medling
- · New York, New York: Matthew Williamson, Lawrence Dauer
- Oak Ridge, Tennessee: Pat McCloskey, Janet Westbrook, Jeff Bruner, Phil Gianutsos
- Pocatello, Idaho: Rich Brey, Paul Ritter, Jonathan Case, Robert Boston
- Richland, Washington: Don Stewart, Andrey Mozhayev
- San Ramon, California: Quang Le, Kathleen Dinnel-Jones
- St. Louis, Missouri: Chris Graham, Bill Uhland, Ron Dobey

- · Hamilton (Ontario), Canada: Christopher Malcomson, Bindu (Ricky) Khaloo, David Tucker
- Madison, Wisconsin: Kay Foster, Karen Barcal, John Bauhs, Todd Davidson, Earl Fordham, Gary Kephart, Chris Kessler, Kent Lambert, Dan Mantooth, Ruth McBurney, Bob Miltenberger, Dan Miron, Cheryl Olson, Drew Thatcher, Jim Willison

I would like to note that my term as committee chair, in addition to the terms of committee members Darrell Liles and Kay Foster, will conclude at the end of this year. It probably sounds crazy, but I actually have enjoyed my time as a committee member and then as committee chair. It has been a good experience and I have appreciated the opportunity to interact with other CHPs across the country. Both Darrell and Kay have been exemplary committee members and their ability to consistently get the job done thoroughly, on time, and with a smile has been one of the highlights of working on the committee. And that leaves us with one remaining committee member, Todd Baker, to carry the Examination Site Committee torch into 2014. Todd has served on the committee the past few years and knows what it takes to identify proctors and exam sites. Based on his experience and demonstrated ability, Todd was selected to serve as committee chair starting in 2014. Joining Todd on the committee are new committee members Chris Graham, Joe Zic, and Anthony Williams. Todd, Chris, Joe, and Anthony: congratulations on your selection and best wishes for a successful exam season in 2014!

ABHP Exam Application Reminder

Stop procrastinating! Applications to take either part of the 2014 ABHP examination must be filed with the Secretariat and postmarked no later than 15 January 2014. Application information may be found at http://www.hps1.org/aahp/boardweb/forms.html.

Changes to AAHP Procedures

Kyle Kleinhans, CHP, AAHP Parliamentarian

The standard operating procedures (SOPs) of the American Academy of Health Physics (AAHP) are reviewed periodically. Changes are proposed and approved during the summer meeting of the Executive Committee. Revisions to SOPs 1.1.2 (Academy Service Award), 1.2.1 (Standing Committee Appointments), 2.3.1 (Examination Site Committee), 2.4.1 (Metrics for Assessment of the Performance of the AAHP Investment Manager), 3.2.2 (Preparation of Good Things to Know About My Job Documents), 6.1.3 (Examination Site Committee Charter), 6.2.4 (Good Things to Know—Secretary), and 6.2.7 (Good Things to Know—Parliamentarian) were recommended and approved by the Executive Committee. The revised procedures will soon be published and available on the AAHP website at http://www.hps1.org/aahp/membersonly/aahp_docs/index.htm (note: your AAHP user ID and password will be needed to access this area of the website).

Address contributions for CHP News and "CHP Corner" to:

Editor Associate Editor

Kyle Kleinhans, CHP Harry Anagnostopoulos, CHP Work: 865-241-1024 Work: 610-337-5322

Email: <u>klink17@tds.net</u> Email: <u>anaghw@yahoo.com</u>

