### August 2014

# **CHP Corner**

.



AMERICAN ACADEMY OF HEALTH PHYSICS email: AAHP@BurkInc.com

1313 Dolley Madison Blvd. ■ Suite 402 ■ McLean, VA 22101 ■ 703-790-1745 ■ FAX: 703-790-2672

Address contributions for CHP News and "CHP Corner" to:EditorAssociate EditorKyle Kleinhans, CHPHarry Anagnostopoulos, CHPWork: 865-241-1024Work: 610-337-5322Email: klink17@tds.netEmail: anaghw@yahoo.com

# Announcing the 2014 William A. McAdams Award

Patrick J. LaFrate, CHP, ABHP Vice Chair



Lester Aldrich's daughters, Ann Lambel (left) and Linda Urias (right), accepting his posthumous William A. McAdams Outstanding Service Award from Patrick LaFrate

Photo by Gen Roessler

The William A. McAdams Outstanding Service Award was awarded posthumously to Lester K. Aldrich, II, at the 59<sup>th</sup> Annual Meeting of the Health Physics Society in Baltimore, Maryland, 13–17 July 2014. Ann Lambel and Linda Urias, Les's daughters, accepted the award.

The award was established in 1989 and is presented annually by the American Board of Health Physics (ABHP) and American Academy of Health Physics (AAHP) to honor a certified health physicist who has made a significant contribution toward the advancement of professionalism in health physics and to the certification process.

In conferring the award, the committee noted Les's dedication to the profession of health physics spanning

more than 22 years, primarily at Hanford. Les served as a director of the AAHP from 2002 through 2004, as well as having served both as an ABHP Part II Exam Panel member and as Part I Exam Panel chair. Perhaps his most enduring contribution to the profession was his involvement in the Continuing Education Committee of the AAHP.

His many years of sustained and dedicated service to the ABHP and the health physics community at large make him fully deserving of recognition and applause. With this award, Les joins an elite group of 25 previous recipients.

Please join us in looking forward to a full citation of the McAdams Award in December's *Health Physics* Journal.

# **Call for AAHP Nominations**

Dale D. Thomas III, CHP, Chair, Nominating Committee

The American Academy of Health Physics (AAHP) Nominating Committee is seeking candidates to run for Academy office on the 2015 ballot. Successful candidates will take office at the 2016 Health Physics Society (HPS) Midyear Meeting. We need nominees for the offices of president-elect, secretary, and director. Nominees must be:

- Current plenary members of the Academy (either active or emeritus).
- Not serving an appointment to either the Part I or Part II Exam Panels or as a member of the ABHP at the time that they take office.

The president-elect serves one year, followed by a year as president and third year as past president. The president-elect is responsible for filling positions on the Academy committees, attending the meetings of the ABHP, and as president, presiding over the meetings of the Academy. The Executive Committee meets twice per year at the HPS annual and midyear meetings. The secretary serves a term of two years, followed by one year as past secretary. The secretary is responsible for recording the minutes of the Academy Executive Committee and business meetings and running the election for officers. The directors serve terms of three years. The directors attend the meetings of the Academy Executive Committee and perform duties as requested by the president.

•

Please contact any member of the Nominating Committee by phone or email to volunteer or to nominate someone else. You may also contact the chair directly at dale.thomas@moellerinc.com or 210-667-9368.

#### **Nominating Committee Members**

Cynthia L. Connelly, <u>connellycl@inpo.org</u>, 770-644-8839 Morgan Cox, <u>morgancx@swcp.com</u>, 216-464-7716 Christine Donahue, <u>chrisadonahue@gmail.com</u>, 530-305-2457 Earl Fordham, <u>earl.fordham@gmail.com</u>, 509-946-0234 Patrick LaFrate, <u>Patrick.lafrate@duke-energy.com</u>, 980-875-3204 Robert Morris, <u>Robert Morris@mhchew.com</u>, 303-424-0007

### **Professional Development Committee**

#### Maya Keller, CHP, Chair

The American Academy of Health Physics (AAHP) Professional Development Committee (PDC) is responsible for expanding and enhancing the professionalism and benefits of certification and encouraging and assisting in the recognition and acceptance of certification by others. Improving recognition is achieved by increasing awareness of American Board of Health Physics (ABHP) certification.

The PDC is attempting to spread the word by developing a brochure explaining the certification requirements and benefits. This brochure is available at the AAHP/ABHP display booth during each annual meeting of the Health Physics Society (HPS) and may be mailed to student branches of the HPS along with a letter encouraging young graduates from health physics programs to become certified. The PDC hosted the AAHP/ABHP display booth at the 59<sup>th</sup> Annual Meeting of the HPS in Baltimore, Maryland, 13–17 July 2014.

Active members of the PDC are Chair Maya Keller, Richard Granberg, Janet Johnson, Tom Johnson, and Carl Paperiello (who will be leaving us this year). We are seeking a new PDC chair; if interested, please contact the Executive Committee.

As always, tell your colleagues how important it is to become certified!