April 2015

CHP Corner

.

AMERICAN ACADEMY OF HEALTH PHYSICS email: AAHP@burkinc.com

1313 Dolley Madison Blvd. Suite 402 McLean, VA 22101 703-790-1745 FAX: 703-790-2672

Address contributions for CHP News and "CHP Corner" to: Email: klink17@tds.net

Editor Kyle Kleinhans, CHP Associate Editor Harry Anagnostopoulos, CHP Email: harold.anagnostopoulos@nrc.gov

Who Me? Why Should I Become a Member of the HPS?

Robert Miltenberger, CHP, AAHP President

Membership in the Health Physics Society (HPS) has several key benefits to each certified health physicist (CHP). First, Health Physics News provides you with advanced notice of proposed regulatory changes and, with that knowledge, the chance to support or oppose the proposed regulatory changes. The newsletter provides information regarding "the word around the Beltway" and also the opportunity to lead the direction of your professional society instead of following where others take you. Your reply to the annual salary survey helps determine the benchmark value of our services for employers who seek market parity. The HPS journal, Health Physics, provides members with information about current research, and the Society's Operational Radiation Safety presents ideas for addressing operational problems. HPS membership provides numerous ways to earn those pesky continuing education credits (CECs) needed so that you never have to take that certification exam again. HPS members receive an approximate 20% discount for registration at the midyear and annual HPS meetings, and that results in a very cost-effective manner to gain CECs. These savings alone pay for the membership. I'd like to encourage all CHPs who are not current members of the HPS to join and participate in the future of our profession.

Continuing Education Committee Update (Important News for CHPs)

Jim Willison, CHP, Continuing Education Committee Chair

Normally, this April "CHP Corner" is about the activities of the Continuing Education Committee and the lineup of American Academy of Health Physics (AAHP) courses for the upcoming annual meeting in Indianapolis. However, while all of that continues, there is important news of which all certified health physicists (CHPs) need to be aware.

The AAHP Executive Committee met at the 2015 HPS Midyear Meeting in Norfolk and ratified changes to the continuing education requirements for recertification. Effective 1 January 2016, all CHPs will be required to have 80 continuing education credits (CECs) over the prior four-year period in order to recertify and remain active CHPs. Concurrent with these changes, the Executive Committee also approved a restructuring of the determination of how CECs are awarded. The revised guidelines for how credits are assigned has been posted to the AAHP website with the major changes summarized as follows:

- 1. The maximum credits for any single activity has increased from 32 to 40. Longer-duration activities (such as five-day training courses) had been limited to 32, but are now granted 40 CECs. A review of prior assignments of CECs is underway and should be completed by the time this is published.
- 2. The changes to the credit determination are in effect NOW and apply to all applications submitted for recertification. The changes are therefore retroactive to all activities in current recertification periods.
- 3. Credits for scientific meetings with multiple simultaneous presentations are now granted credit based on the number of contact hours (excluding meals and business meetings without technical content). The number of credits thus available from attendance at technical

presentations is also increased to the new maximum of 40. The prior allowance for scientific meetings was two CECs per half day to a maximum of 12 CECs.

•

- 4. Unchanged is the ability to add credits from scientific meetings to additional activities at HPS meetings such as AAHP eight-hour courses, professional enrichment programs (PEPs), and continuing education lectures (CELs), making annual and midyear meetings an even better opportunity for CHPs to obtain the necessary credits for recertification.
- 5. Additional credits were also added for the members of the Panels of Examiners to reflect the large technical effort involved in the preparation and grading of the annual examinations.
- CHPs whose recertification period ends in 2015 are only required to have 64 CECs for recertification for this period only. Everyone recertifying for periods after 1 January 2016 are required to have 80 CECs.

If you have any questions related to this, please address them to the Continuing Education Committee at <u>aahpcec@burkinc.com</u>.

Nominating Committee Update

Dale D. Thomas III, CHP, Chair

The Nominating Committee is composed of nine plenary members of the American Academy of Health Physics (AAHP) whose primary task is to put together a slate of candidates for open positions on the AAHP Executive Committee, the American Board of Health Physics (ABHP), and the three AAHP representatives on the American Board of Medical Physics (ABMP). Nominating Committee members are drawn from a wide variety of geographical areas and health physics disciplines. The intent is that the committee members' diverse circles of influence will then result in both a large and a balanced pool of certified health physicist candidates for elective office.

The committee contacts potential nominees for elective office, reviews their eligibility and willingness to serve, ranks the candidates, and forwards the slate of candidates to the Executive Committee. Working closely with the ABHP, the committee also selects and ranks potential candidates for open positions on the ABHP. The Nominating Committee is also charged with identifying qualified candidates for the Academy positions on the ABMP.

Members who are continuing terms or beginning new terms on the Nominating Committee in 2015 include incoming Nominating Committee Chair Earl Fordham, Robert Morris, Morgan Cox (reappointed for a concurrent term), Kathleen Dinnel-Jones, James Bogard, John Hageman, and David Kent. The committee would like to thank outgoing committee members Cynthia Connelly, Christine Donahue, and Patrick LaFrate and departing Nominating Committee Chair Dale Thomas for their service.

The Nominating Committee strongly encourages Academy members to submit names of potential candidates for elected office or to volunteer to be considered themselves. Past service on the ABHP Examination Panels, Academy standing committees, or the ABHP is helpful but is not a prerequisite. Your interest and enthusiasm are the lifeblood of the AAHP.



Health Physics Society

Return to Table of Contents